Interesting Links for 26-03-2026
Mar. 26th, 2026 12:00 pm- 1. UK 'runs out' of warships - leaving Germany to take over key Nato mission
- (tags:uk germany nato navy )
- 2. UK confirms ban on cryptocurrency donations and limit on foreign donors in blow for Reform
- (tags:UK politics money reform regulation )
- 3. Final analysis of 2025 Iberian blackout: Policies left Spain at risk
- (tags:regulation electricity spain )
- 4. UK university students are being paid to support Chinese propaganda
- (tags:china uk propaganda university )
- 5. Antimatter has been transported for the first time ever — in the back of CERN's truck
- (tags:physics antimatter viaSwampers )
- 6. Democrat wins Florida state seat containing Trump's Mar-a-Lago estate (over 20% change)
- (tags:hope elections USA politics )
- 7. UK car and steel firms fear being frozen out of 'Made in Europe' deals by EU
- (tags:Europe UK trade manufacturing doom )
- 8. The Revolutionary Guards are taking over Iran (control has fragmented and there is nobody to negotiate with)
- (tags:Iran military USA OhForFucksSake war )
We cannot just stand by, it's time to match your strength of will.
Mar. 26th, 2026 03:52 amWork was fairly busy again yesterday, with me spending a lot of time on the phones. I did some wheeling and dealing to get some people in, but it was somewhat frustrating, because for every one that said yes, at least one other said no. I understand work and childcare and all of that, but when your doctor says STAT, I'd at least like you to try to see if you could work it out before you say no. In some cases I worked hard to get you those spots at the locations you said you could do. Ugh, people. So annoying sometimes.
Towards the end of the day, our order came from the Punjabi Market and Halal Butcher. I got a bunch of meat for Yoda's meals as well as some quinoa and other snackies. I got a mix of meats, including chicken, chicken legs, chicken gizzards, ground goat and some goat meat for stewing.
I started with the goat stew meat. It had bones, seeming to ne mostly the cast off pieces, so into the pot it went to make a mild broth. Once that had cooked for 2 hours, I got the goat out and let it cool and threw in butternut squash. Later, when the goat had cooled enough to get the bones out, I deboned and threw it back into the pot along with some frozen green beans. Let them stew for a little while, until the squash was soft, and scooped some out to cool for his dinner, hoping against hope that he would like goat.
Turns out, he really likes goat meat. Which is good, since we have two more trays of meat.
Today, I shall wash out the pan and throw in some chicken legs and some gizzards to boil up a broth. Then, I don't know. Maybe some more squash, maybe some brown rice. We'll see on what veggies we want to add as well.
The goat was great, but next time, I need to get more of it. The bones ate up a lot of the weight, so it only made two meals.
The chicken I have a lot of, so I'm going to make a lot, and put it in little tupperwares in the fridge and freezer. I'm thinking about getting one of those vacuum bag sealers to make fairly flat packages that won't take up so much room, especially for vacation. They can just be frozen until they're ready to be used. I never thought that I would have Opinions about dog food and vacuum seals, but hey. Life comes at you fast. Sometimes your elderly dog gets sick, and you'll do anything to prevent it happening again.
Today, I shall write a bit more of Marchen, since I'm up early. I realized that I need to work on the character's introduction, write a little vignette to bring them into the game. I felt like it gave each character a little time to shine right at the beginning, and it gave the other players tantalizing backstory tidbits. My group is all nervous about the intros, but I promised them that I had them. I will set the scene and guide them through it. All they have to do is answer my questions the way the character would, and relax and have a conversation. I've got them. I find that it's more immersive and that it gives the setting a lived in feeling as well as giving the players a chance to roleplay the character before the story starts, so they get a feel for them.
Then, after the final introduction is done, then I shall bring them all together, and the story shall begin.
That's in 24 days now. I still have plenty of time to finish it up and be ready. I already have enough for probably 5 sessions or so, maybe more. I'm going to strip out some of what I wrote, because I was writing for a mysterious person who might want to buy and run my module, and that was hard. So now, I'm just writing in my style. Setup, possible outcomes, and let the players decide what will happen.
The plan is to have all the nations set up, so that the players can choose where they want to go. Some scenarios might be punching above their weight class, so they'll need to pick carefully. During the set up, I will definitely be mentioning which rulers are the more volatile ones, so hopefully, they'll know to avoid them.
I got the cutest little outfit from Torrid last night. I had gotten the skirt, but it was huge. Apparently my upper and lower are two sizes, the lower is a size smaller. This time, I got it in the right sizes, and added the matching top.

I even have a studded belt I can add if I so desire. It looked fun and I think I'll enjoy wearing it. I would like to get a pair of combat boots to wear with it, but we'll see. I've been having trouble finding boots that fit.
I also got some plain square neck jersey dresses that are super cute, but not so fancy you can't wear them anywhere. I like them with tennis shoes and biker shorts or leggings underneath to avoid chubrub.

Also, OMG, they have pockets!
Speaking of things I bought, I just bought an additional carry on that will count as a personal item. I'll stow my backpack above the seat, which will have most of my medications, some clothes in case of delayed luggage, and other stuff I'm not likely to need during the flight. The person case will contain the stuff I might need/that's too important to stow like medications I might need during the flight. My Mounjaro, which I don't need to get pushed around or crammed in with other bags, some ibuprofen, tylenol, benadryl, antacids, and anti anxiety meds.
Today, I shall hopefully not be on the phones quite as much. I'd love to work on the cardiac folder to see if I can start shrinking that down, but we've just been too busy.
I'm off this weekend, so we'll have to do something on Saturday. We have game on Sunday, helping one of the Marchen players to set up her entirely homebrew subclass character sheet and introducing her character to Jess' character since they're going to be starting in the same prison.
I have no idea what to do on Saturday. It's supposed to be sunny, but cool, so possibly not outside. Probably will just be lunch and relaxing. Maybe I'll go to the non-halal butcher and see what lean cuts of pork they have for Yoda and get my emissions testing done. That could be good and adult-like. I could also pick up my prizes from the quarter auction.
I have 14 days til I start school, and 42 days until we leave for the cruise. I'm slowly starting to get things in order for that. I think I have my clothes figured out. It's just a matter of packing them. But for that, I need to know the temperatures we're looking at and the weather. SO far, it's still butfucking cold in Alaska, so hopefully the temps go up a little in the next month. I keep looking at the sites to see if I can print out our boarding passes yet, or if I can chose our meal for the flight. Nothing yet. Probably a couple of weeks before, but hope springs eternal.
Okay, time to hop off and do some work on Marchen. I'd like to get the introductions written today.
Everyone have a lovey Thursday! Or Friday Eve, however you like to look at it!
Comic: 03/26/2026
Mar. 26th, 2026 12:00 amA Quick Check-In From Mexico
Mar. 26th, 2026 02:44 am
Oh, hello. The JoCo Cruise is in full swing now and last night we had the “land concert” in Loreto, Mexico, and while there (and in between snapping pictures of the performers), I got this photo of Krissy. She was having a good time.
And so am I! Fabulous cruise with fabulous people and it’s humming along nicely. I’ll post about it more when I’m back on land, I’m sure. In the meantime, I hope you’re all well.
— JS
Driveby check-in
Mar. 25th, 2026 09:34 pm- Massively sick twice with colds that lingered for weeks (still recovering from the last one)
- Had to put my beloved boy kitty, Shu, to sleep last week (he had a good passing, but it was hard on me). His sister, Ma'at, and I are trying to adapt to new normal.
- My friend and former editor Lee Martindale passed away and I've been trying to support her widower. Next up: drafting her obit.
- My city got invaded and two people were murdered by ICE within two miles of my house (I already live 4 blocks from what is now George Floyd Square). We're still dealing with all the after effects, trauma, financial disasters, etc. It's been...a lot.
- I started a new job at DreamHaven Books in Minneapolis just in time for owner Greg Ketter to get teargassed and turn into a folk hero.
- I came into some money through Jana's dad's estate.
- Co-taught a good class at the Loft Literary Center.
- Got sick with the aforementioned cold during MarsCon.
- Have gotten Joyce Chng's terrific queer pirate collection, Sailing the Golden Chersonese, into preorder status for release next month.
- Did sundry fun things like an escape room expedition with the steampunk club, hung out with friends, saw plays and watched some entertaining TV.
- Worked on submissions for Queen of Swords.
- Campaigned hard for the Astreiant Series created by Melissa Scott and Lisa A. Barnett to be nominated for Best Series Hugo (please - Point of Hearts is the qualifying title!)
- Wrote and got an article accepted for Deep Cuts in a Lovecraftian Vein. I wrote about a Margaret St. Clair story that is a fascinating historical artifact. And problematic af.
- Got through Part Two and half of Part Three, so far, of my Data Analytics Certification program.
- Wrote some thousands of words of new fiction, about which more soon.
- I turn 63 on Monday, which is kind of wild.
stumbling blocks
Mar. 25th, 2026 10:28 pmI have managed to somehow write over 11k of stuff, but it's largely unactionable stuff. Half of it's reliant on the context of the RP I was in back in the day, so most readers would lack the context for anything I wrote (not that I care about other readers, but why post it at that point). The rest is just so abstracted and ephemeral scenes stuck together that I'll be lucky if I manage to wrangle even one of it into a postable fic. So we'll see. And I've reviewed the 95% complete AMTDI fic, and yeah, the problem really is 'this fic is required to end on a dis-satisfactory return-to-stasis note,' which is too quiet a tragedy for 'I'm going to go out screaming' Owen, even if it's par for the course for quiet Tosh. Torchwood loves a good failure, and 'Owen and Tosh fuck but nothing comes of it' is just a 'meh' failure. There's no emotional oomph.
Also I think at this point to finish it properly I'd have to chance rewatching canon and I don't know if I can convince myself to do that. I'm bad at watching stuff these days. I keep thinking I should watch something, but I'm never in the mood for any of the stuff on my list, or I keep thinking 'no, there was something else I'd been meaning to watch, but I'm not sure what it was.' And nothing I have managed to get off my ass and watch has struck my strongly enough to get fannish about it. None of the new Treks have done it enough for me that I haven't even bothered to watch the last of SNW or any of the new Academy one (feels like it would give me the motts). I have zero interest in even approaching Heated Rivalry. What are we doing for poly fandoms these days anyway?
What I'm doing Wednesday
Mar. 25th, 2026 07:13 pmI would welcome some sunshine and warmth. It would help so much. Hurry up April.
Teacher stuff
Next week's class is done. I can rest a day or two and start on to the next. I have 3 classes left. Time flies. Next week's class is on Book clubs. It's a whole different whole of book clubs in the 21 century.
Reading
One of the homeworks my students had was to give me a reading recommendation of Nordic noir novel with little or no graphic violence with a police detective or amateur detective. I got one recommendation (the homeworks are not mandatory) and it fit so well with the request. I went through it in 3 days.
Sara Lövestam. Chacun sa vérité / The Truth Behind the Lie. This is noir just a little bit off on the psychological side. Original, stunning and completely not typical with a twist you might not see coming. I didn't. I'm starting book 2. There are 4 in this series.
Made some progress on These Violent Delights but got sidetrack by the noir novel.
I have Les carnets de l'apothicaire #7 and #8 waiting. #8 is coming out in English next week.
Watching
I do not normally watch k-drama. I find them very different and less to my taste than c-drama. But... I watched Love Scout last week-end since I am not going back to Pursuit of Jade until all the episodes are available. I liked it. It's green flag all the way and a nice grown up modern romance. But man, the villain characters male and female are really, really caricatures. Larger than normal and not in a good way. Still for the leads, the little girl, the book shop and the team of secondary characters of the FL business, it's worth a watch, Just fast forward the baddies parts.
I'm rewatching while cross-stitching You are my hero because I need some cute Bai Jing Ting, an atypical FL, a good Wang Yang (yes I still like his work even if I was disappointed by the whole Magnolia awards two years ago). I'm fastforwarding through the second leads romance, they are cute but second time around they are a little boring. The mature romance Wang Yang and Zhang Yao is much more interesting and lovely.
Crafting
My red fox is coming along I'm almost at 75% done.
My pyrography class last week was really nice. I even got myself a kit and will eventually do more.
Here my first piece. A tulip. I did a partial image transfer and worked on the shading and the lines.

SlasHeaven is Moving to AO3!
Mar. 25th, 2026 08:13 pmSlasHeaven, a Spanish-language slash fanfiction and fanart archive, is being imported to the Archive of Our Own (AO3).
In this post:
- A bit of background explanation
- What this means for creators who had work(s) on SlasHeaven
- And what to do if you still have questions
Background explanation
SlasHeaven was founded on May 19, 2004, by the programmer and main promoter of the archive, Ayesha, and two collaborators, Maryam and Aura. This began after a massive deletion of fanfiction slash written in Spanish at a popular platform and with the conviction that we needed a place where we could publish in our language without restrictions. And so this website was born, a place dedicated exclusively to slash fanfiction written in Spanish.
SlasHeaven’s archivist made the decision to move the archive to AO3 after web configuration issues made it untenable to continue maintaining the archive themselves.
The purpose of the Open Doors Committee’s Online Archive Rescue Project is to assist moderators of archives to incorporate the fanworks from those archives into the Archive of Our Own. Open Doors works with moderators to import their archives when the moderators lack the funds, time, or other resources to continue to maintain their archives independently. It is extremely important to Open Doors that we work in collaboration with moderators who want to import their archives and that we fully credit creators, giving them as much control as possible over their fanworks. Open Doors will be working with Maryam and Aura to import SlasHeaven into a separate, searchable collection on the Archive of Our Own. As part of preserving the archive in its entirety, any fanart currently hosted by SlasHeaven will be hosted on the OTW’s servers, and embedded in their own AO3 work pages.
We will begin importing works from SlasHeaven to AO3 after March. However, the import may not take place for several months or even years, depending on the size and complexity of the archive. Creators are always welcome to import their own works and add them to the collection in the meantime.
What does this mean for creators who had work(s) on SlasHeaven?
We will send an import notification to the email address we have for each creator. We’ll do our best to check for an existing copy of any works before importing. If we find a copy already on AO3, we will add it to the collection instead of importing it. All works archived on behalf of a creator will include their name in the byline or the summary of the work.
All imported works will be set to be viewable only by logged-in AO3 users. Once you claim your works, you can make them publicly-viewable if you choose. After 30 days, all unclaimed imported works will be made visible to all visitors.
Please contact Open Doors with your SlasHeaven pseud(s) and email address(es), if:
- You’d like us to import your works, but you need the notification sent to a different email address than you used on the original archive.
- You already have an AO3 account and have imported your works already yourself.
- You’d like to import your works yourself (including if you don’t have an AO3 account yet).
- You would NOT like your works moved to AO3, or would NOT like your works added to the archive collection.
- You are happy for us to preserve your works on AO3, but would like us to remove your name.
- You have any other questions we can help you with.
Please include the name of the archive in the subject heading of your email. If you no longer have access to the email account associated with your SlasHeaven account, please contact Open Doors and we’ll help you out. (If you’ve posted the works elsewhere, or have an easy way to verify that they’re yours, that’s great; if not, we will work with the SlasHeaven mods to confirm your claims.)
Please see the Open Doors Website for instructions on:
- importing your works to AO3
- adding your works to the new collection SlasHeaven
If you still have questions…
If you have further questions, visit the Open Doors FAQ, or contact the Open Doors committee.
We’d also love it if fans could help us preserve the story of SlasHeaven on Fanlore. If you’re new to wiki editing, no worries! Check out the new visitor portal, or ask the Fanlore Gardeners for tips.
We’re excited to be able to help preserve SlasHeaven!
– The Open Doors team and Maryam and Aura
Commenting on this post will be disabled in 14 days, on April 8, 2026. If you have any questions, concerns, or comments regarding this import after that date, please contact Open Doors.
Interesting Links for 25-03-2026
Mar. 25th, 2026 12:00 pm- 1. Plug-in solar power could be in UK shops within months
- (tags:solarpower uk GoodNews )
- 2. What is a polite way to say "I have to poop" as a woman? (the responses are hilarious)
- (tags:funny women society poo )
- 3. Even Scotland's richest back higher taxes on the wealthy, poll finds
- (tags:polls tax wealth Scotland )
I'm curious about whether young people have even seen a western
Mar. 25th, 2026 10:37 amI wonder at what birth year over half of people have never seen a western.
Obviously very young people won't - but if we look at people age 25-40, who have had a chance to watch a bunch of movies, I wonder if outside of classic movie afficionados you'll have seen many people see any. The last minor resurgence would have been Tarantino's Hateful Eight and Django Unchained, and I don't think either of those were that massive. Before that you're probably back to Dances with Wolves and Unforgiven, which is now around 35 years ago.
Which would mean that the main cultural touchstone for young people would be Red Dead Redemption 2, released in 2018 and the 4th best-selling game of all time.
(Curiosity triggered because in the most recent University Challenge nobody recognised John Wayne.)
The hero knew what he had to do and he wasn't afraid to fight.
Mar. 25th, 2026 04:26 amI did get some time to do other things in the am, and some of the m worked out, So that was good. And a couple during. I got to deal with the pt who had been bounced around because people don't necessarily understand that there are documents as they relate to combo MRIs and MRAS. Especially MRAs. Theres's a handy document about Cardiac MRIS and then MRAs. Because some MRAs have toe be done together. Like the Loey Diets Protocol. It's five separate MRAs that should be like 3hours total. But when you add them, they become a protocol that cane be done in 60 minutes. (Tbf, even our other PAS3s don't always get this one. I know it because I've spent plenty of time with the Cardiac document, but People schedule it all over the place. So I fixed that, spicy patient and all.
Yesterday morning, after I finished my journal, I went and wrote a bit on the new campaign, Marchen. By the time I had to go get ready for work, I had 929 words out. The number annoyed me, so at lunch I wrote more, topping out for the day at 1229. I was much more pleased with that number. It's moved them through two countries, so I am pleased. I feel like I'm set up well to have the campaign writen or at least the majority fleshed out. I certainly have worked on the fly in the past if they break the campaign, or if some random villian will prompt their ire, leading to a new chapter about going to deal with them.
Even if I didn't write anything more until after we started playing, I'd be fine.
I offered the musical introduction for the player characters in Marchen, and the players jumped on it. I've got two out of the four already, plus the music I'm using in my lead in. I'm about to upload the player's intro. The two I've gotten already are very interesting. Totally different feels to them. One is the Dishonored soundtrack, which is cool, in a dark, moody sort of way.
And then Jess sent me a band I've not heard of, with a track that was wistful and maybe a little regretful.
I on the other hand was not so original, and picked May it Be from Lord of the Rings (So cliche!) as performed by the 2Cellos.
I honestly cannot wait for this campaign to start. I'm hoping it's a lot of fun and that the small clues I'm dropping will make it a fulfilling mystery.
In other news, the vacation is now 43 days away. It's very exciting! I'm still nervous about Yoda, but I'm going to be positive, and believe that this is going to go well. I've started looking at the app more closely, looking at the deck plans, so I will know where I'm going when the time comes. I feel like I need to know the most about everything, so I can make the vacation smooth for us.
As usual, I want this to be the best vacation possible. I want it to be perfect for the people I'm draging along in my wake, my Travel Prince(ss). They have an itinerary that I printed out and nothing else. I may let them carry their boarding pass, but that's about it. They can have their boarding pass for the flight once we go to the airport and print them all out from my phone, where they live. Our car service's info? In my phone. The hotels? In my phone. Our Excursions are all in my phone as well.
Mind you, while we're in Vancouver? That free day is entirely up to them. They can tag along with Jess and I, or they can do there own thing. And once we're on the boat, they can do whatever they would like.
Okay, time for me to work on Marchen and maybe take a nice shower. Everyone have a most wonderful Wednesday!


